Our Foundation History

In 1996, a small group of community members consisting of Robert Duncan, Ron Marshall, Elta Bertolino Ayre, Donna Tandy, Lyle Wright and MarCo LaRowe saw the need to form an organization to benefit the future of Roberts. The result was the formation of the Roberts Community Foundation.

The vision created by this founding group has guided our board members over the years. The Roberts Community Foundation has built a significant endowment fund and provides a tool for those who believe in this community and school system and are inspired to provide a legacy for future Roberts citizens.

Over the years, the Foundation has been responsible for the facelift of the Roberts Town Park, a new sidewalk the length of First Street, adding lighting along Highway 212 and additional street lights within the community, installing Little Library boxes on First Street, funding improvements in the Roberts Fire Department, purchasing Christmas lighting in the community, developing a master plan for the future, beautification projects in the community which improve curb appeal, as well as purchasing and planting over 200 trees throughout the community. The Foundation hosts all-board meetings where commiunity civic boards meet with residents for updates on projects, needs and concerns. We have partnered with the Red Lodge Area Community Foundation to fund a Covid-19 Relief Fund and the Carbon County Area Ride and Transit.

The Foundation has funded many educational opportunities in the school and community. RCF has provided funding for scholarships for Roberts seniors and purchased educational and musical equipment and materials; assisted with adding safety features within the school, furnishing the new library, a new trophy case, scoreboards and a marquee sign at the school. In addition, we have supported a variety of youth organizations within the school and community while working diligently to obtain grants and funding that have provided over a quarter million dollars of improvements resulting in positive changes in the Roberts community.

The Foundation administered a CTEP grant through Carbon County and the Montana Department of Transportation to build "gateway monuments" along the highway on either end of town. RCF maintains the annual flowering plants and grasses that continue to make the monuments appealing. RCF has been a successful grant recipient for other projects, including sidewalks, street lights, etc., and are willing to assist with the board and administration in pursuing a variety of funding sources.

Many citizens have served on the RCF board throughout its history and deserve credit for keeping the spirit of ‘a place to come home to’ alive today. A list of members of the board is below. Thank you for your service! 

RCF established the Roberts Activities Committee to promote the Festival on First and the Veterans’ Honor Memorial. The RAC hosts the "Rusty Rockets," for retirees. Conversation, cards, laughter and refreshments happen every third Tuesday at the Roberts Fire Hall. In addition RAC is organizing an All Class Reunion for the weekend before July 4, 2023. Dozens of community volunteers erect crosses, flags and dog tags along Highway 212 twice yearly, surrounding Memorial Day and Veterans’ Day.

We are blessed with a large endowment fund managed by the Montana Community Foundation that provides good-sized interest payments yearly. The principle of our endowment funds cannot be touched, but serves as income through annual interest payments in perpetuity for the community of Roberts. We rely on generous donors to fund the bulk of our community and school investments. We mainly appeal for funds through our newsletter and special fundraising appeals.

The Roberts Community Foundation’s mission is to safeguard and enhance the integrity of the Roberts area community and school system. Our collective purpose is to establish a strong fund development program that assists those services and programs considered important for the Roberts area now and in the future.

Roberts Community Foundation * History of Board Membership

Julie Papez Harmala 1997 1999
MarCo LaRowe 1997 1999
Ron Prinkki 1998 2000
Donna Tandy 1997 2002
Tracy Timmons 2000 2002
Lyle Wright 1997 2003
Ron Marshall 1997 2003
Randy Weimer 2002 2004
James Binando 2002 2005
Lance Million 2003 2005
JaLayne Smith Obert 2003 2006
Shirley Baum Kane 1999 2009
Mike Loughney 1999 2013
Rusty DeVries 2009 2013
Elta Bertolino Ayre 1997 2014
Tisa Wright 2005 2014
Trish Morris 2008 2014
Leah Harvey 2015 2016
Joel Bertolino 2009 2017
Jane Zumbrun 2002 2018
Mary Ellen Doty 2015 2018
Tammy Helsper 2019 2020
Cherie Hill Mondragon 2016 2022
Gordon Hill 2005 Present
Alan Schuyler 2009 Present
Patti Prinkki Keebler 2013 Present
Karen Kansala 2015 Present
Tim Swansborough 2016 Present
Paula Marshall Pederson 2021 Present
Andrew Dimich 2022 Present
Janice Polzin 2022 Present
Kelley Guasp 2022 Present



mcf ad